Appointment of a new Kativik Regional Government Representative at the Kativik Ilisarniliriniq Council of Commissioners

2018 | 12 | 13
News Releases

Montreal, Qc. (December 13, 2018) – Jennifer Hunter has joined the Council of Commissioners and Executive Committee of Kativik Ilisarniliriniq (KI) as the appointed Kativik Regional Government (KRG) representative. Jennifer took her oath of office during the Council of Commissioners meeting, taking place in Montreal from December 10-13, 2018.

The Kativik Ilisarniliriniq Executive Committee members are:

  • KI President and Executive Committee member: Robert Watt (Kuujjuaq)
  • KI Vice-President and Executive Committee member: Alicie Nalukturuk(Inukjuak)
  • Executive Committee member: Sarah Aloupa (Quaqtaq)
  • Executive Committee member: Anthony Ittoshat (Kuujjuaraapik)
  • KRG representative and Executive Committee member: Jennifer Hunter (Kuujjuaraapik)

About us:

Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, the school board of Nunavik, was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA). Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of educational services to all Nunavik residents. Under the JBNQA, the school board also acts as an institution with unique powers and jurisdiction geared towards the protection and development of the Inuit language, culture, and way of life, through the delivery of tailored educational services and programs. The education programs developed by the school board are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres and a pre-college facility. More information can be found at:

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Communications Coordinator
514-482-8220 ext. 309 |