Appointment of a new KRG representative at the Council of Commissioners

2017 | 08 | 16
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (August 16, 2017) – Elena Berthe joined the Kativik Council of Commissioners and Executive Committee as the appointed KRG representative. Elena is replacing Mary Pilurtuut who resigned in March 2017. She took her oath of office during the Council of Commissioners meeting, held in Montreal from June 19-23.

The members of the Kativik School Board’s Council of Commissioners are:

  • KSB President, Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Inukjuak: Alicie Nalukturuk
  • KSB Vice-President, Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Kuujjuaq: Robert Watt
  • Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Aupaluk: Martin Scott
  • Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Puvirnituq: Sarah Baulne
  • Kativik Regional Government representative and Executive Committee member: Elena Berthe
  • Commissioner for Kangiqsualujjuaq: Jean Leduc
  • Commissioner for Kuujjuaraapik: Antony Ittoshat
  • Commissioner for Tasiujaq: Pasha Berthe
  • Commissioner for Kangirsuk: Sarah A. Grey
  • Commissioner for Quaqtaq: Pallaya Ezekiel
  • Commissioner for Kangiqsujuaq: Jessica Arngak
  • Commissioner for Salluit: Kakkiniq Naluiyuk
  • Commissioner for Umiujaq: Eva Niviaxie
  • Commissioner for Ivujivik: Saira Kanarjuak
  • Commissioner for Akulivik: Marcusie Qinuajuaq

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the population of Nunavik. The education programs developed by the KSB are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres. More information can be found at:

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Communications Coordinator

(514) 482-8220