Election of new Commissioners in Kuujjuaq and Kuujjuaraapik

2017 | 04 | 3
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (April 3, 2017) – Following the resignation of Willis Tagoona, the community of Kuujjuaq elected Robert Watt as their Commissioner. Robert was sworn in on March 28.

On February 28, the KSB Vice-President, Executive Committee member and Commissioner of Kuujjuaraapik, Peter P. Papyarluk, passed away. Peter dedicated an important part of his life to the development of education in Nunavik and the Kativik School Board Commissioners are honored to have worked with him for the advancement of the children in Nunavik.

The community of Kuujjuaraapik elected Anthony Ittoshat as their new Commissioner. Anthony was sworn in on March 30. On the same day, the Commissioners also elected Robert Watt to the position of Vice-President of the Kativik School Board’s Executive Committee.

Lastly, Mary Pilurtuut resigned from her position as KRG representative at the Council of Commissioners in March. Her replacement is expected to be appointed shortly.

The members of the Kativik School Board’s Council of Commissioners are:

  • KSB President, Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Inukjuak: Alicie Nalukturuk
  • KSB Vice-President, Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Kuujjuaq: Robert Watt
  • Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Aupaluk: Martin Scott
  • Executive Committee member and Commissioner for Puvirnituq: Sarah Baulne
  • Kativik Regional Government representative and Executive Committee member: Vacant
  • Commissioner for Kangiqsualujjuaq: Jean Leduc
  • Commissioner for Kuujjuaraapik: Antony Ittoshat
  • Commissioner for Tasiujaq: Pasha Berthe
  • Commissioner for Kangirsuk: Sarah A. Grey
  • Commissioner for Quaqtaq: Pallaya Ezekiel
  • Commissioner for Kangiqsujuaq: Jessica Arngak
  • Commissioner for Salluit: Kakkiniq Naluiyuk
  • Commissioner for Umiujaq: Eva Niviaxie
  • Commissioner for Ivujivik: Saira Kanarjuak
  • Commissioner for Akulivik: Marcusie Qinuajuaq

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the population of Nunavik. The education programs developed by the KSB are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres. More information can be found at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Communications Coordinator

(514) 482-8220