Inukjuak students speak live to Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield

2013 | 04 | 8
News Releases

Inukjuak, Nunavik, QC (April 8, 2013) – This week, students at the Innalik School in Inukjuak will be talking live to Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, Commander of the International Space Station. The radio contact will occur on Friday April 12, 2013, at 13h30, while the International Space Station travels over Inukjuak, about 400 km above the earth.

“Our students have been preparing questions for astronaut Chris Hadfield” says Haley Digel, teacher at the Innalik School. “The space contact is an exciting activity, which offers the opportunity to introduce scientific notions to our students in a very concrete manner”, adds Digel.

During the space contact, the Innalik School will also welcome members of the Inukjuak community. “This program plays an important role in energizing our students’ interest in science and technology”, says Paul Bourassa, Innalik School Principal. “It is great that parents and community members are able to participate along with our students”, he continues.

During the days preceding the radio contact with astronaut Chris Hadfield, students will be offered workshops on the phenomenon of northern lights. If the weather allows, a nighttime observation excursion is also planned.

For the past years, this special program was offered to Nunavik schools under the sponsorship of the Makivik Corporation, First Air and Air Inuit. The program is coordinated by the Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS), in collaboration with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information contact:

Kaudjak Padlayat
Public Relations Officer
Kativik School Board
(514) 482-8220
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Des élèves d’Inukjuak s’entretiendront en direct avec l’astronaute canadien Chris Hadfield

2013 | 04 | 8
Communiqués de presse

Inukjuak, Nunavik, QC (8 avril 2013) – Cette semaine, des élèves de l’école Innalik d’Inukjuak s’entretiendront en direct avec l’astronaute canadien Chris Hadfield, commandant de la Station spatiale internationale. Le contact radio aura lieu le vendredi 12 avril 2013 à 13h30, au moment où la station spatiale survolera Inukjuak à environ 400 km au-dessus de la terre.

«Nos élèves ont préparé des questions pour l’astronaute Chris Hadfield», mentionne Haley Digel, enseignante à l’école Innalik. «Le contact spatial est une activité emballante, qui permet d’initier nos élèves à des notions scientifiques de manière très concrète», ajoute Mme Digel.

Durant le contact avec l’espace, l’école Innalik accueillera également des membres de la communauté d’Inukjuak. «Ce programme joue un rôle important pour mousser l’intérêt des élèves envers les sciences et la technologie», signale Paul Bourassa, directeur de l’école Innalik. «C’est fantastique que les parents et des membres de la communauté puissent participer à ce projet avec nos élèves», poursuit-il.

Durant les journées qui précéderont le contact radio avec l’astronaute Chris Hadfield, les élèves assisteront à des ateliers sur le phénomène des aurores boréales. Si les conditions climatiques le permettent, une excursion de nuit est également prévue.

Au cours des dernières années, ce programme spécial a été offert aux écoles du Nunavik grâce à la généreuse participation de la Société Makivik, de First Air et d’Air Inuit. L’organisme Radio amateur à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (RASSI) coordonne le projet en collaboration avec la NASA et l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC).

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Personne ressource :

Kaudjak Padlayat
Agente de relations publiques
Commission scolaire Kativik
(514) 482-8220
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca