Nunavik hosts the 2013 Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair under the theme “Building from the past towards the future”

2013 | 03 | 11
News Releases

KUUJJUAQ, Nunavik, Qc. (March 11, 2013) – The Quebec Aboriginal Science and Engineering Association (QASEA) and the Kativik School Board (KSB) are proud to announce that the 2013 Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair will be held on March 19 and 20, 2013, at the Jaanimmarik School in Kuujjuaq.

“This event represents a unique opportunity for aboriginal youth across the province to meet and exchange on their interest for sciences”, says Marc Lalande, President of QASEA.

From March 19 to 20, participants will present their scientific projects to judges. The teams having developed the best projects will be rewarded at a grand gala ceremony, to be held on March 20, 2013.

“The Aboriginal Fair is an important event; it can be instrumental in motivating our youth to pursue further their scientific interests through academic education”, declares Johnny Kasudluak, President of the KSB.

“With Stanley Vollant attending the Fair as a special guest, we also hope to inspire all participants to explore future career paths in science related areas”, adds Johnny Kasudluak.

At the fair, over a hundred aboriginal youth from elementary and secondary schools will compete for best project awards in their category. Among the winners from secondary schools, up to four students will be selected to represent the “Aboriginal Quebec Autochtone” region at the Canada-Wide Science Fair (May 2013, in Lethbridge, Alberta).

The Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair is organized every year in a different school. The school is selected among schools of Quebec’s First Nations and Inuit communities. The host school receives participants from all these communities and collaborates with QASEA to organize the event.

About us:

The Quebec Aboriginal Science and Engineering Association (QASEA) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote sciences and engineering to Aboriginal youth attending school in First Nations and Inuit Communities in Quebec. QASEA achieves its mission through the Aboriginal Science Fair Program. More information at: www.asfquebec.ca

Also watch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=87O2BGW5uts

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information or to interview the organizers or the winners of best project awards, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Public Relations Officer
Kativik School Board
(514) 482-8220

or

Marc Lalande
President-Treasurer
Quebec Aboriginal Science and Engineering Association (QASEA)
(819) 684-1889

Le Nunavik accueille l’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec de 2013 sous le thème «À partir du passé, bâtissons le futur»

2013 | 03 | 11
Communiqués de presse

KUUJJUAQ, Nunavik, Qc (11 mars 2013) – L’Association québécoise autochtone en science et en ingénierie (AQASI) et la Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) sont fières d’annoncer que l’Expo-sciences autochtone de 2013 aura lieu les 19 et 20 mars 2013 à l’école Jaanimmarik de Kuujjuaq.

« Cet événement représente une occasion unique pour les jeunes autochtones de l’ensemble de la province de faire connaissance et d’échanger sur leur intérêt pour les sciences», déclare Marc Lalande, président de l’AQASI.

Les 19 et 20 mars, les participants présenteront leurs projets scientifiques aux juges. Les équipes ayant développé les meilleurs projets seront récompensées lors d’une grande cérémonie de gala, qui aura lieu le 20 mars 2013.

«L’Expo-sciences autochtone est un événement important qui vise à motiver nos jeunes à explorer leurs intérêts scientifiques en poursuivant leurs études», affirme Johnny Kasudluak, président de la CSK.

«Avec la présence d’un invité spécial tel que Stanley Vollant, nous espérons également inspirer tous les participants à explorer des options de cheminements professionnels dans des domaines liés à la science», poursuit Johnny Kasudluak.

À l’Expo, plus d’une centaine de jeunes autochtones des écoles primaires et secondaires de la province se disputeront les récompenses accordées aux meilleurs projets dans leur catégorie. Parmi les gagnants provenant des écoles secondaires, jusqu’à quatre élèves seront choisis pour représenter la région « Aboriginal Québec Autochtone » à l’Expo-sciences autochtone pancanadienne (Mai 2013, Lethbridge, Alberta).

L’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec a lieu chaque année dans une école différente. L’école est choisie parmi les écoles des communautés des Premières Nations et des communautés inuites du Québec. L’école accueille les participants de toutes ces communautés et organize l’événement en collaboration l’AQASI.

À propos de nous :

L’Association québécoise autochtone en science et en ingénierie (AQASI) est un organisme sans but lucratif dont la mission est de promouvoir les sciences et l’ingénierie auprès des jeunes autochtones qui fréquentent les écoles des communautés des Premières Nations et inuites du Québec. L’AQASI réalise sa mission par le biais du programme Expo-sciences autochtone. Pour de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre aux adresses suivantes : www.asfquebec.ca et http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=87O2BGW5uts

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec les personnes ci-dessous :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Agente de relations publiques
Commission scolaire Kativik
(514) 482-8220

Ou

Marc Lalande
Président-trésorier
AQASI
(819) 684-1889