Nunavik’s regional Science Fair to start tomorrow

2014 | 02 | 24
News Releases

Salluit, Nunavik, Qc (February 24, 2014) – Nunavik’s regional Science Fair will take place on February 25 and 26, 2014, at Ikusik School in Salluit.

“We are proud to host this regional event,” declared Bernard Lefebvre, Principal of Ikusik School. “The Science Fair always involves stimulating exchanges between students from different communities,” he added.

During these two days, some fifty students from all of Nunavik schools will be presenting their scientific projects to the judges.

“Participation in the regional Science Fair is a unique learning opportunity for students,” pointed out Hugo Jourdain. Mathematics and sciences teacher at Ikusik, Jourdain is also one of the main organizers of the event. “Working on hands-on projects awakens the scientific mind. By explaining their projects to judges, visitors and other participants, the students also acquire a great deal of self-confidence,” he said.

Among the teams who presented the best projects, some will have the chance to represent Nunavik at provincial level, during the 2014 Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair, from March 25 to 26, in Wendake, Quebec.

The results of the contest will be announced on February 26, 2014, during a closing ceremony, at Ikusik School.

Coordinated by the Kativik School Board, this event enjoys the support of the Kativik Regional Government, of the Salluit municipality and of the New Paths for Education program (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada).

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of education services offered to Nunavik’s population. The education programs developed by KSB are offered in the schools of the 14 communities of Nunavik. Inuktitut is the first language and English and French are second languages. For more information about us, please visit our Web site at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Public Relations Officer
Kativik School Board
514-482-8220

L’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik commence demain

2014 | 02 | 24
Communiqués de presse

Salluit, Nunavik, Qc (24 février 2014) – L’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik se déroulera les 25 et 26 février 2014, à l’école Ikusik de Salluit.

« Nous sommes fiers d’accueillir cet évènement régional, » déclare Bernard Lefebvre, Directeur de l’école Ikusik. « L’expo-sciences donne toujours lieu à des échanges stimulants entre les élèves de différentes communautés, » ajoute-t-il.

Au cours de ces deux journées, une cinquantaine d’élèves provenant de l’ensemble des écoles du Nunavik présenteront leurs projets scientifiques aux juges.

« La participation à l’Expo-sciences régionale est une opportunité d’apprentissage unique pour les élèves, » souligne Hugo Jourdain. Enseignant de mathématiques et sciences à Ikusik, Jourdain est également l’un des principaux organisateurs de l’évènement. « Travailler sur des projets concrets éveille l’esprit scientifique. En expliquant leurs projets aux juges, aux visiteurs et aux autres participants, les élèves gagnent aussi beaucoup de confiance en eux, » précise-t-il.

Parmi les équipes ayant présenté les meilleurs projets certains auront la chance de représenter le Nunavik au niveau provincial, lors de l’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec de 2014, du 25 au 26 mars, à Wendake, Québec.

Les résultats de la compétition seront annoncés le 26 février 2014, lors d’une cérémonie de clôture, à l’école Ikusik.

Cet évènement, coordonné par la Commission scolaire Kativik, bénéficie du soutien de l’Administration régionale Kativik, la municipalité de Salluit et du programme Nouveaux sentiers en l’éducation (Ministère des affaires autochtones et développement du nord, Canada).

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Agente de relations publiques
Commission scolaire Kativik
(514) 482-8220