Two students from Salluit win a medal at the Canada-Wide Science Fair!

2016 | 05 | 30
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (May 30, 2016) – The Kativik School Board and the Quebec Aboriginal Science and Engineering Association (QASEA) are proud to announce that two students from Salluit, Nunavik, won a bronze medal in the junior category during the Canada-Wide Science Fair (ESPC) that took place in Montreal from May 16 to 20, 2016.  Elaijah Isaac and Jenny Okituk are two secondary 2 students at Ikusik School. They impressed the judges with their project, “Qullik 2.0: An update of the Inuit traditional lamp”.

Jenny and Elaijah had already been awarded the first prize in the secondary 2-3 category during Quebec’s Aboriginal Science Fair (ESAQ) on April 4 and 5, 2016, in Mistissini. The prize allowed them to qualify for the Canada-Wide Science Fair (CWSF) that took place in Montreal. They represented the Aboriginal Quebec Autochtone region at the CWSF. This cultural region includes all of Quebec’s First Nations and Inuit communities. It is one of the 50 regions recognized by Youth Science Canada, the organizer of the CWSF. The CWSF is a renowned contest that gathers the best 500 sciences projects of secondary students from across Canada.

Congratulations to Elaijah and Jenny, and to teacher Hugo Jourdain who supported them throughout the school year. We would also like to underline that during Quebec’s Aboriginal Science Fair in April 2016, Elaijah and Jenny had also received the Cultural Heritage Award. During this provincial event, the first prize in the secondary 4-5 category and the Health Excellence Award had also been awarded to a student from Salluit, Lucassie Amaamatuaq. Kudos to all of you!

About us:

QASEA is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote sciences and engineering to youths attending schools in Inuit and First Nations communities of Quebec. QASEA achieves its mission through the Aboriginal Science Fair Program – Quebec, which also includes mentoring for youths and teachers and training for teachers. More information at: www.esaquebec.ca

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Public Relations Officer – Kativik School Board | (514) 482-8220 | publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

or

Marc Lalande | President – QASEA Treasurer | (819) 684-1889

Deux élèves de Salluit remportent une médaille à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne!

2016 | 05 | 30
Communiqués de presse

Montréal, Qc. (30 Mai 2016) – La Commission scolaire Kativik et l’Association québécoise en science et en ingénierie (AQASI) sont fières d’annoncer que deux élèves de Salluit, Nunavik, ont remporté une médaille de bronze dans la catégorie junior lors de l’Expo-Sciences Pancanadienne (ESPC) qui avait lieu à Montréal du 16 au 20 mai 2016.  Elaijah Isaac et Jenny Okituk sont deux élèves de secondaire 2 à l’école Ikusik. Ils ont impressionné les juges avec leur projet, « Qullik 2.0: Une mise à jour de la lampe inuite traditionnelle ».

 Jenny et Elaijah s’étaient déjà mérités le premier prix dans la catégorie secondaire 2-3 lors de l’Expo-sciences autochtone Québec (ESAQ) les 4 et 5 avril 2016, à Mistissini. Ce prix leur a permis d’accéder à L’Expo-sciences pancanadienne (ESPC) qui a eu lieu à Montréal. Ils y représentaient la région Aboriginal Québec Autochtone à l’ESPC. Cette région culturelle comprend toutes les communautés des Premières Nations et Inuit du Québec. Elle est l’une de 50 régions reconnues par Sciences jeunesse Canada, l’organisateur de l’ESPC. L’ESPC est un concours prestigieux qui rassemble les 500 meilleurs projets en sciences d’élèves du secondaire provenant de partout au Canada.

Toutes nos félicitations à Elaijah et Jenny de même qu’à  l’enseignant Hugo Jourdain qui les a épaulés tout au long de l’année scolaire. Nous désirons par ailleurs souligner que lors de l’Expo-sciences autochtone Québec en avril 2016, Elaijah et Jenny avaient également remporté le Prix de l’héritage culturel. Lors de cet événement provincial, le premier prix de la catégorie secondaire 4-5 et le Prix d’excellence en santé avaient aussi été décernés à un élève de Salluit, Lucassie Amaamatuaq. Bravo à tous!

 À propos de nous :

L’AQASI est un organisme sans but lucratif dont la mission est de promouvoir les sciences et l’ingénierie auprès des jeunes qui fréquentent les écoles situées dans les communautés inuites et des Premières Nations du Québec. L’AQASI accomplit sa mission au moyen du Programme de l’ESA – Québec, lequel comprend aussi du mentorat pour les jeunes et les enseignants et de la formation pour les enseignants. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web : www.esaquebec.ca

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. La commission scolaire compte 17 écoles primaires et secondaires, de même que 5 centres d’éducation des adultes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Relations publiques Commission scolaire Kativik | (514) 482-8220 | publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

ou

Marc Lalande | Président – Trésorier de l’AQASI | (819) 684-1889