A student from Salluit wins two national prizes during the Canada-Wide Science Fair!

2014 | 05 | 26
News Releases

Montreal (May 26, 2014) From May 10 to 17, Jeannie Kakayuk Puxley was taking part in the 2014 Canada-Wide Science Fair, in Windsor, Ontario. The Canada-Wide Science Fair is a yearly event, which hosts the best 500 science students from secondary schools across Canada. We are particularly proud to announce that Jeannie won on that occasion two prestigious prizes for her scientific project on luminotherapy.

Jeannie received a bronze medal in the senior category (Secondary 5, CEGEP 1 and 2). She also won the Weizmann prize, which entitles her to a one-month stay in Israel where she will be working on an individual project, under the supervision of professional scientists.

Last March, Jeannie Kakayuk Puxley had won the first prize in her category at provincial level, during Quebec’s Aboriginal Science Fair (Wendake, Qc).

A provincial champion, she had then been invited to represent the “Aboriginal Québec Autochtone” region at national level, by participating in the Canada-Wide Science Fair in Windsor, Ontario, from May 10 to 17, 2014.

Our congratulations to Jeannie for her sustained efforts and the perseverance that she demonstrated!

 About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

The Quebec Aboriginal Science and Engineering Association (QASEA) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote sciences and engineering to Aboriginal youth attending school in First Nations and Inuit Communities in Quebec. QASEA achieves its mission through the Aboriginal Science Fair Program. More information at: www.asfquebec.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Public Relations Officer
Kativik School Board
514-482-8220

or

 Marc Lalande
Président-trésorier
QASEA
(819) 684-1889

Une élève de Salluit remporte deux prix à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne!

2014 | 05 | 26
Communiqués de presse

Montréal (26 mai 2014) Du 10 au 17 mai, Jeannie Kakayuk Puxley participait à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne de 2014, à Windsor, Ontario. L’Expo-sciences pancanadienne est un événement annuel qui accueille les 500 meilleurs élèves en sciences des écoles secondaires de partout au Canada. Nous sommes particulièrement fiers d’annoncer que Jeannie y a remporté deux prix prestigieux, pour son projet scientifique portant sur la luminothérapie.

Jeannie s’est vu décerner une médaille de bronze dans la catégorie senior (5e secondaire, cégep 1 et 2). Elle a également remporté le prix Weizmann, qui lui permettra de faire un séjour d’un mois en Israël où elle travaillera sur un projet individuel, encadrée par des scientifiques professionnels.

En mars dernier, Jeannie Kakayuk Puxley avait remporté le premier prix dans sa catégorie au niveau provincial, lors de l’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec qui avait lieu à Wendake.

Championne provinciale, elle avait alors été invitée à représenter la région « Aboriginal Québec Autochtone » au niveau national, en participant à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne de 2014, à Windsor, Ontario, du 10 au 17 mai 2014.

Toutes nos félicitations à Jeannie pour ses efforts soutenus et la persévérance dont elle a fait preuve!

 À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

L’Association québécoise autochtone en science et en ingénierie (AQASI) est un organisme sans but lucratif dont la mission est de promouvoir les sciences et l’ingénierie auprès des jeunes autochtones qui fréquentent les écoles des communautés des Premières Nations et inuites du Québec. L’AQASI réalise sa mission par le biais du programme Expo-sciences autochtone. Pour de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.esaquebec.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Agente de relations publiques
Commission scolaire Kativik
(514) 482-8220

ou

Marc Lalande
Président-trésorier
AQASI
(819) 684-1889