The Council of Commissioners Announces a Historic Step Towards Achieving Equal Working Conditions for All Its Unionized Teachers

2022 | 03 | 17

Montreal, Qc. (March 17, 2022) – In the context of the negotiation for the renewal of the 2015-2020 collective agreements for all its unionized employees, Kativik Ilisarniliriniq has reached a landmark agreement in principle with the union representing its teachers. The content of the agreement in principle will have to be ratified by the members of this union.

“For the past 20 years, Kativik Ilisarniliriniq has tried to eliminate disparities in the working conditions of its unionized employees. Today, we reached an agreement in principle, which includes a set of unprecedented administrative measures that were introduced by management. It’s a historic moment for the Nunavik education sector” said Mme. Sarah Aloupa, President of Kativik Ilisarniliriniq.

A range of benefits is provided for in the collective agreements of teachers, among which a cashable food transportation allowance. The administrative measures introduced by Kativik Ilisarniliriniq are complementary and will benefit employees recruited in Nunavik. They feature a retention premium, transportation benefits (outings) and an allowance for locally hired staff. Recurrent funding has been secured for these administrative measures.

“The Council of Commissioners wants to acknowledge the relentless work of Director General Harriet Keleutak and her team, who continued work initiated in 2016 by former Director General Annie Popert and the Council of Commissioners. Their persistent efforts led to the successful negotiation of sustainable funding to back offers that Kativik Ilisarniliriniq has sought to bring at the bargaining table for many, many years,” Mme. Aloupa added.

In addition, Kativik Ilisarniliriniq approved a revised and renewed Protocol of Agreement with the Ministère de l’Éducation and the Treasury Board Secretariat, which guides the work of the Management negotiating committee for the Kativik School Board during collective agreement negotiations. The new protocol replaces a 1986 protocol that had been last renewed in 1991. Furthermore, it includes a differentiated financial framework that will ensure funding for administrative measures related to the retention and attraction of Kativik Ilisarniliriniq’s employees.

When approving the new Protocol of Agreement, the Council of Commissioners also resolved to discontinue all proceedings related to the litigation case filed before the Quebec Superior Court in 2016.

“Kativik Ilisarniliriniq continues to address its specific needs as an organization, and to establish priorities related to the working conditions and the retention of its employees. The Council of Commissioners is confident that the rights enshrined in the 1975 James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (17.0.68) will be upheld during the next round of collective agreement negotiations expected to begin this year,” declared Mme. Aloupa.

“Negotiations are still on-going with the with the unions representing our support staff and professionals. We are hopeful that a mutually satisfying agreement will also be reached with them in the coming days,” Mme. Aloupa added.

About us:

Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, the school board of Nunavik, was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA). Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of educational services to all Nunavik residents. Under the JBNQA, the school board also acts as an institution with unique powers and jurisdiction geared towards the protection and development of the Inuit language, culture, and way of life, through the delivery of tailored educational services and programs. The education programs developed by the school board are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 6 adult education centres. For more information, visit kativik.qc.ca.

— 30 —

For information:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Communications Coordinator
514 797-8220
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Le conseil des commissaires annonce une avancée historique vers la mise en place de conditions de travail équitables pour tous ses enseignants syndiqués

2022 | 03 | 17

Montréal, Qc. (17 mars 2022) – Dans le cadre de la négociation du renouvellement des conventions collectives 2015-2020 pour l’ensemble de ses employés syndiqués, Kativik Ilisarniliriniq a conclu une entente de principe historique avec le syndicat représentant ses enseignants. Le contenu de l’entente de principe devra être entérinée par les membres de ce syndicat.

« Depuis 20 ans, Kativik Ilisarniliriniq tente d’éliminer les disparités dans les conditions de travail de ses employés syndiqués. Aujourd’hui, nous avons conclu une entente de principe qui inclut un ensemble de mesures administratives sans précédent, initiées par la partie patronale. C’est un grand moment pour le secteur de l’éducation du Nunavik », a déclaré Mme Sarah Aloupa, présidente de Kativik Ilisarniliriniq.

Un ensemble d’avantages sociaux est ainsi prévu par les conventions collectives des enseignants, dont une allocation monnayable pour le transport de nourriture. Viennent s’y ajouter les mesures administratives introduites par Kativik Ilisarniliriniq. Ces dernières bénéficieront aux membres du personnel embauchés au Nunavik. Elles incluent notamment une prime de rétention, une allocation de transport (sorties) et une allocation pour le personnel embauché localement. Le financement de ces mesures administratives sera récurrent.

« Le Conseil des commissaires tient à souligner le travail acharné de la directrice générale Harriet Keleutak et de son équipe qui ont poursuivi le travail amorcé en 2016 par l’ancienne directrice générale Annie Popert et le Conseil des commissaires d’alors. Leurs efforts soutenus ont mené à l’obtention d’un financement conséquent et durable. C’est ce qui nous a permis de soutenir les offres patronales que Kativik Ilisarniliriniq cherchait à présenter à la table de négociation depuis de très nombreuses années », a déclaré Mme Aloupa.

De plus, Kativik Ilisarniliriniq a approuvé un protocole d’entente révisé et renouvelé avec le ministère de l’Éducation et Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor. Ce document guide les travaux du Comité patronal de négociation pour la commission scolaire Kativik lors de la négociation des conventions collectives. Le nouveau protocole remplace un texte datant de 1986 qui avait été renouvelé pour la dernière fois en 1991. Il inclut également un cadre financier différencié qui soutiendra le financement de mesures administratives relatives à l’attraction et la rétention des employés de Kativik Ilisarniliriniq.

Lors de l’approbation du nouveau protocole d’entente, le Conseil des commissaires a également décidé de mettre fin à toutes les procédures liées au contentieux en cours devant la Cour supérieure du Québec, qui a débuté en 2016.

« Kativik Ilisarniliriniq continue de répondre à ses besoins spécifiques en tant qu’organisation et d’établir les priorités relatives aux conditions de travail et à la rétention de ses employés. Le Conseil des commissaires est confiant que les droits garantis par la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois de 1975 (17.0.68) seront respectés lors du prochain cycle de négociations des conventions collectives qui débutera cette année », a déclaré Mme Aloupa.

« Les négociations sont toujours en cours avec les syndicats qui représentent nos employés de soutien et nos professionnels. Nous espérons arriver à une entente mutuellement satisfaisante au cours des prochains jours », a ajouté Mme Aloupa.

À propos de nous :

Kativik Ilisarniliriniq a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ). Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Dans le cadre de la CBJNQ, la commission scolaire est habilitée à élaborer et à dispenser des programmes et des services d’éducation particuliers destinés à assurer la protection et le développement de la langue, de la culture et du mode de vie inuits. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par Kativik Ilisarniliriniq sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik, en inuktitut comme langue maternelle, puis en anglais et en français comme langues secondes. La commission scolaire compte 17 écoles primaires et secondaires, de même que 6 centres d’éducation des adultes. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour toute demande d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Coordonnatrice des communications
514 797-8220
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca