Approval of reconstruction funds for Tarsakallak School, Aupaluk

2015 | 09 | 4
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (September 04, 2015) – The Kativik School Board welcomes the public announcement made by the Quebec Ministry of Education, Higher Education and Research today September 4, 2015, regarding the allocation of funds to finance the reconstruction of Tarsakallak School, Aupaluk.

“This is very good news for the Kativik School Board, for our students and their parents as well as for the community of Aupaluk as a whole,” declared Alicie Nalukturuk, President of the Kativik School Board. “I also wish to thank the Northern Village of Aupaluk for their cooperation and understanding in reaching a final agreement on the reconstruction of Tarsakallak School with the school board’s Executive Committee in May 2015,” she added.

The current reconstruction planning process foresees that the construction of the new school will be completed by August 2016. Construction work began in July 2015.

The total cost of the reconstruction project is estimated at $16,807,377. The contribution for this funding is estimated at $12,043,033 from the Quebec government, at $4,014,344 from the Federal government and at $750,000 from the Northern Village of Aupaluk.

Background:

Tarsakallak School was destroyed by a fire on March 15, 2014. On March 31, students were back to class. Since that date, schooling in Aupaluk has been provided out of three separate premises. Two classrooms are located at the Sukliateet Child Care Centre. Five others are located at the Aupaluk’s former municipal office (renovated and refurbished for this purpose by the Kativik School Board). Finally, four additional temporary classrooms and a temporary physical exercise room were constructed in Aupaluk, with funding provided by the Quebec Ministry of Education. The construction was completed at the end of November 2014. These new temporary classrooms and physical exercise room are located next to the former municipal office.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Public Relations Officer

(514) 482-8220

jadeb@kativik.qc.ca

Approbation des fonds de reconstruction pour l’école Tarsakallak à Aupaluk

2015 | 09 | 4
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (04 septembre 2015) – La Commission scolaire Kativik se félicite de l’annonce publique faite aujourd’hui le 4 septembre 2015 par le ministère de l’Éducation, de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche du Québec, concernant l’allocation de fonds pour financer la reconstruction de l’école Tarsakallak, à Aupaluk.

« C’est une très bonne nouvelle pour la Commission scolaire Kativik, pour nos élèves et leurs parents ainsi que pour la communauté d’Aupaluk dans son ensemble, » a déclaré Alicie Nalukturuk, présidente de la Commission scolaire Kativik. « J’aimerais également remercier les responsables du Village nordique d’Aupaluk pour leur coopération et leur compréhension dans la conclusion d’un accord final sur la reconstruction de l’école Tarsakallak avec le Comité exécutif de la commission scolaire, en mai 2015, » a-t-elle ajouté.

Le processus actuel de planification de la reconstruction prévoit que la construction de la nouvelle école sera achevée au plus tard en août 2016. Les travaux de construction ont commencé en juillet 2015.

Le coût total du projet de reconstruction est estimé à 16 807 377 $. La contribution à ce financement est estimée à 12 043 033 $ pour le gouvernement du Québec, à 4 014 344 $ pour le gouvernement fédéral et à 750 000 $ pour le Village nordique d’Aupaluk.

Contexte :

L’école Tarsakallak a été détruite par un incendie le 15 mars 2014. Le 31 mars, les élèves étaient de retour en classe. Depuis cette date, l’enseignement à Aupaluk est assuré à partir de trois emplacements séparés. Deux classes se trouvent au Centre de la petite enfance Sukliateet. Cinq autres se trouvent dans les locaux de l’ancien bureau municipal d’Aupaluk (rénové et réaménagé à cet effet par la Commission scolaire Kativik). Enfin, quatre classes supplémentaires temporaires et une salle temporaire d’exercice physique ont été construites à Aupaluk, avec des fonds provenant du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec. La construction s’est achevée fin novembre 2014. Ces nouvelles classes temporaires et la salle d’exercice physique sont situées à proximité de l’ancien bureau municipal.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik.  L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour des renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau Bernier | Chargée de relations publiques

(514) 482-8220 | jadeb@kativik.qc.ca