Astronaut David St-Jacques visits Nunavik Schools

2014 | 03 | 25
News Releases

Umiujaq, Nunavik, QC (March 25, 2014) Canadian Space Agency (CSA) astronaut David Saint-Jacques is due to arrive in Umiujaq tomorrow, where he will be visiting Kiluutaq School.

There, some 130 students are eager to hear what he has to say about his life as an astronaut.

Former medical doctor and the Co-chief of Medicine at Inuulitsivik Health Centre in Puvirnituq, Saint-Jacques is well known in Umiujaq. “People of the community have very warm memories of the times he practiced as a family doctor in Umiujaq,” says Nicolas Payette, Kiluutaq School Principal.

Having such a distinguished yet familiar guest is an exciting opportunity for students to learn more about science. With the local and regional science fairs organized throughout schools of Nunavik earlier this year, students have already immersed themselves in scientific research and experiments.

“This type of activities is great to stimulate interest in science,” says Nicolas Payette. “It is our hope that it may also inspire the participants to explore future career and studies paths in science-related areas,” he adds.

David Saint-Jacques will be visiting Kiluutaq School from March 26 to 31, 2014. He will then travel to Inukjuak, where he will give a presentation to students at Innalik School, in the afternoon of April 1st. His visit is a joint initiative of the Kativik School Board and the Canadian Space Agency.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of education services offered to Nunavik’s population. The education programs developed by KSB are offered in the schools of the 14 communities of Nunavik. Inuktitut is the first language and English and French are second languages. For more information about us, please visit our Web site at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Public Relations Officer
Kativik School Board
514-482-8220

L’astronaute David St-Jacques en visite dans des écoles du Nunavik

2014 | 03 | 25
Communiqués de presse

Umiujaq, Nunavik, QC (25 mars 2014) L’astronaute David Saint-Jacques, de l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), se rendra à Umiujaq demain où il visitera l’école Kiluutaq.

Sur place, quelque 130 élèves sont impatients à l’idée de l’entendre parler de sa vie comme astronaute.

Ancien médecin et directeur médical adjoint du Centre de santé Inuulitsivik de Puvirnituq, Dr Saint-Jacques est bien connu à Umiujaq. «Les membres de la communauté ont gardé de très bons souvenirs du temps où il pratiquait comme médecin de famille à Umiujaq», mentionne Nicolas Payette, directeur de l’école Kiluutaq.

Pour les élèves, la visite de cet invité à la fois distingué et familier représente une occasion extraordinaire pour en apprendre davantage sur la science. Grâce aux expo-sciences locales et régionales organisées à la grandeur du Nunavik plus tôt cette année, les élèves ont déjà pu se plonger au cœur de recherches et d’expériences scientifiques.

«Ce type d’activités est fantastique pour stimuler l’intérêt de la science», précise Nicolas Payette. «Nous espérons que cette visite inspirera également les participants à explorer de futures carrières et cheminements d’études dans des domaines liés à la science», ajoute-t-il.

David Saint-Jacques visitera l’école Kiluutaq du 26 au 31 mars 2014. Il se rendra ensuite à Inukjuak, où il fera une présentation aux élèves de l’école Innalik dans l’après-midi du 1er avril. Cette visite est une initiative conjointe de la Commission scolaire Kativik et de l’Agence spatiale canadienne.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Agente de relations publiques
Commission scolaire Kativik
(514) 482-8220