Election Results: Kativik School Board Commissioners

2014 | 11 | 20
News Releases

Montreal, Qc. (November 20, 2014) – The Kativik School Board is glad to announce the results of the election of its Commissioners in all Nunavik Communities.

The elected Commissioners will serve a three-year term as members of the Kativik School Board’s Council of Commissioners.

The newly elected Council of Commissioners will hold its first meeting in Montreal, from December 9 to 12. At this first meeting, the Commissioners will elect, from amongst themselves, the Kativik School Board’s President and the members of the Executive Committee. Until then, the former Kativik School Board President, Johnny Kasudluak, will remain in function.

The Kativik School Board also wishes to take this opportunity to announce the names of its Education Committees Presidents. Members of the Education Committees were elected in all Nunavik communities on September 30th and October 1st, 2014.

The Education Committees are formed of locally elected parents, who serve as advisory bodies to the Council of Commissioners. These committees play an important role for both our schools and the Nunavik communities. The education committee members will serve a term of 2 years.

Elections results

Education Committee Presidents:

  • Kangiqsualujjuaq: McCombie Annanack
  • Kuujjuaq: Cecilia Anderson
  • Tasiujaq: Tommy Annanack
  • Kangirsuk: Elisabeth Annahatak
  • Quaqtaq: Annie Kulula Arnatuk
  • Kangiqsujuaq: Alasie Arngak
  •  Salluit: Patricia Cameron
  • Ivujivik: Johnny Maniguk
  • Puvirnituq: Betsy Putugu
  • Akulivik: Alaku Qullialuk
  • Umiujaq: Makussie Tookalook
  • Kuujjuaraapik: Caroline Weetaltuk

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier
Public Relations Officer
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca
(514) 482-8220

Résultats des élections : Commissaires de la Commission scolaire Kativik

2014 | 11 | 20
Communiqués de presse

Montréal, Qc. (20 novembre 2014) – La Commission scolaire Kativik est heureuse d’annoncer les résultats de l’élection de ses commissaires dans toutes les communautés du Nunavik.

Les commissaires sont élus pour un mandat de trois ans, à titre de membres du Conseil des commissaires de la Commission scolaire Kativik.

Le Conseil des commissaires nouvellement élu tiendra sa première réunion à Montréal du 9 au 12 décembre. Lors de cette première rencontre, les commissaires éliront l’un d’entre eux au poste de président de la Commission scolaire Kativik. Ils désigneront également ceux d’entre eux qui seront membres du Comité exécutif. Entre-temps, le président sortant de la Commission scolaire, Johnny Kasudluak, demeurera en fonction.

La Commission scolaire Kativik désire également profiter de cette occasion pour annoncer les noms des présidents de ses Comités d’éducation. Les membres des Comités d’éducation ont été élus dans les communautés du Nunavik le 30 septembre et le 1er octobre 2014.

Les Comités d’éducation sont formés de parents élus localement qui agissent à titre consultatif auprès du Conseil des commissaires. Ces comités jouent un rôle important auprès de nos écoles et pour les communautés du Nunavik. Les membres des Comités d’éducation sont élus pour un mandat de 2 ans.

Résultats de l’élection du Conseil des commissaires (En anglais seulement)

Présidents des Comités d’éducation :

Kangiqsualujjuaq: McCombie Annanack

Kuujjuaq: Cecilia Anderson

Tasiujaq: Tommy Annanack

Kangirsuk: Elisabeth Annahatak

Quaqtaq: Annie Kulula Arnatuk

Kangiqsujuaq: Alasie Arngak

Salluit: Patricia Cameron

Ivujivik: Johnny Maniguk

Puvirnituq: Betsy Putugu

Akulivik: Alaku Qullialuk

Umiujaq: Makussie Tookalook

Kuujjuaraapik: Caroline Weetaltuk

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau Bernier
Chargée de relations publiques
(514) 482-8220