Election results: Kativik School Board Commissioners

2017 | 11 | 15
News Releases

Kuujjuaq (November 15, 2017) – Kativik Ilisarniliriniq is glad to announce the results of the election for its new Council of Commissioners. Each Nunavik Community elected a representative on the Council of Commissioners.

The elected Commissioners will serve a three-year term as members of Kativik Ilisarniliriniq’s Council of Commissioners.

The newly elected Council of Commissioners will hold its first meeting in Montreal, from December 4 to 7. At this first meeting, the Commissioners will elect, from amongst themselves, the Kativik School Board’s President and the members of the Executive Committee. Until then, the former Kativik Ilisarniliriniq President, Alicie Nalukturuk, will remain in function as past president.

Election Results – Council of Commissioners

About us:

Kativik Ilisarniliriniq was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA). Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of educational services to all Nunavik residents. Under the JBNQA, the school board also acts as an institution with unique powers and jurisdiction geared towards the protection and development of the Inuit language, culture, and way of life, through the delivery of tailored educational services and programs. The education programs developed by the school board are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres and a pre-college facility. More information can be found at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Communications Coordinator


514-482-8220 ext.: 309