The Council of Commissioners Shuffles its Executive Committee

2021 | 10 | 21
News Releases

Montreal, Qc. (October 21, 2021) – On October 19, 2021, the Kativik Ilisarniliriniq (KI) Council of Commissioners shuffled its Executive Committee. Evie Qalingo, Commissioner of Ivujivik, was elected as a member of the Executive Committee. She replaces Martin Scott who remains a member of the Council, as Commissioner of Aupaluk.

The members of the Executive Committee are:

  • KI President and Executive Committee member: Sarah Aloupa (Quaqtaq)
  • KI Vice-President and Executive Committee member: Adamie Padlayat (Inukjuak)
  • Executive Committee member: Sarah Beaulne (Puvirnituq)
  • Executive Committee member: Evie Qalingo (Ivujivik)
  • Kativik Regional Government representative and Executive Committee member: Jennifer Hunter (Kuujjuaraapik).

About us:
Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, the school board of Nunavik, was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA). Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of educational services to all Nunavik residents. Under the JBNQA, the school board also acts as an institution with unique powers and jurisdiction geared towards the protection and development of the Inuit language, culture, and way of life, through the delivery of tailored educational services and programs. The education programs developed by the school board are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 6 adult education centres. For more information, visit

— 30 —

For information:
Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Communications Coordinator
514-482-8220 ext. 309