Inukjuak hosts the Nunavik Regional Science Fair

2017 | 02 | 7
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, Qc (February 07, 2017) – This year, the Nunavik Regional Science Fair will take place on February 14 and 15 at Innalik School, in Inukjuak. During these two days, teams of young scientists from each of the 14 Nunavik communities will be presenting their projects to students, parents and local residents.

“We are honored to host this great event in Inukjuak,” said Alicie Nalukturuk, President of the Kativik School Board. The regional science fair is always a great opportunity for students to get involved in hands-on projects while exploring their interest for science. “Through this type of event, the school board hopes to inspire youth to explore future career paths or higher education in science-related areas,” she also declared.

Commenting on the event, Innalik School Principal Mario Jolivet also noted the importance of experiential learning. “While working on their projects, students realize that science is present everywhere in their daily life and in traditional Inuit knowledge. It’s not just about the abstract concepts we teach in class, it’s about something they can really get involved in,” he said.

On the last day of the regional science fair, the panel of judges will announce the winners in each category (Grade 5, Grade 6, Secondary 1, Secondary 2-3 and Secondary 4-5). The team that presents the best project will be selected to represent Nunavik at the Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair, in Odanak, from March 28 to 30, 2017.

For the last two years, Nunavik has stood out at the national level, with three students from Salluit winning prizes in their categories at the 2014 and 2016 Canada-Wide Science Fair: Jeannie Kakayuk Puxley (May 2014), Elaijah Isaac (May 2016), and Jenny Okituk (May 2016).

Coordinated by the Kativik School Board Education Services, the Nunavik Regional Science Fair enjoys financial support from the Kativik Regional Government.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. The education programs developed by the KSB are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Kaudjak Padlayat

Public Relations Officer

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Inukjuak accueille l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik

2017 | 02 | 7
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, Qc (7 février 2017) – Cette année, l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik se tiendra les 14 et 15 février à l’école Innalik à Inukjuak. Durant ces deux jours, des équipes de jeunes scientifiques provenant des 14 communautés du Nunavik présenteront leurs projets aux élèves, aux parents et aux résidents locaux.

« Nous sommes honorés d’accueillir cet événement important à Inukjuak », a déclaré Alicie Nalukturuk, présidente de la Commission scolaire Kativik. L’Expo-sciences régionale représente toujours une occasion extraordinaire pour les élèves de participer à des projets pratiques tout en explorant leur intérêt pour la science. « En organisant ce type d’événements, la commission scolaire espère inspirer les jeunes à explorer des cheminements de carrière ou à entreprendre des études supérieures dans des domaines liés aux sciences », a-t-elle ajouté.

S’exprimant au sujet de cet événement, le directeur de l’école Innalik, Mario Jolivet, a également noté l’importance de l’apprentissage expérimental. « En travaillant sur leurs projets, les élèves réalisent que la science est présente dans tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne et qu’elle est au cœur des connaissances traditionnelles des Inuits. La science ne se limite pas aux concepts abstraits présentés en classe. Les projets présentés par les élèves témoignent d’une multitude d’applications concrètes de la démarche scientifique », a‑t‑il précisé.

Lors de la dernière journée de l’Expo-sciences régionale, un jury annoncera le nom des gagnants dans chaque catégorie (5e année, 6e année, Secondaire 1, Secondaire 2-3 et Secondaire 4-5). L’équipe qui aura présenté le meilleur projet représentera le Nunavik à l’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec qui se tiendra à Odanak du 28 au 30 mars 2017.

Au cours des deux dernières années, le Nunavik s’est démarqué à l’échelle nationale. Trois élèves de Salluit ont gagné des prix dans leur catégorie à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne de 2014 et 2016 : Jeannie Kakayuk Puxley (mai 2014), Elaijah Isaac (mai 2016) et Jenny Okituk (mai 2016).

Coordonnée par les Services éducatifs de la Commission scolaire Kativik, l’Expo-sciences régionale reçoit du soutien financier de l’Administration régionale Kativik.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. La commission scolaire compte 17 écoles primaires et secondaires, de même que 5 centres d’éducation des adultes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Kaudjak Padlayat

Chargée de relations publiques

(514) 482-8220 – publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca