Kuujjuaq hosts the Nunavik Regional Science Fair

2015 | 02 | 23
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, Qc (February 23, 2015) – The Nunavik Regional Science Fair will take place on February 24 and 25, 2015, at Pitakallak School in Kuujjuaq. During these two days, teams of some 20 young scientists will be presenting their projects to judges.

This year, the Nunavik Regional Science Fair will be held for schools located on the Ungava coast. The participating communities are Kangirsualujjuaq, Kuujjuaq, Tasiujaq, Aupaluk, Kangirsuk and Quaqtaq. Next year (2015-2016), the Nunavik regional Science Fair will regroup the schools located on the Hudson coast.

“This regional event is very inspiring and we are really glad to be hosting it,” declared Susie Koneak, Principal of Pitakallak School. “Students are motivated by this opportunity to exchange with youth from other communities who share their interest for science,” she added.

Among the teams who will have presented the best projects, some will have the chance to represent Nunavik at the provincial level, during the 2015 Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair (March 24 to 26, Kahnawake, Qc).

The results of the contest will be announced on February 25, 2015, during an evening closing ceremony, in the Cultural Center of the Northern Village of Kuujjuaq.

New this year, students from Kindergarten to Grade 3 will also be participating in a Junior Science Fair on the morning of February 25. This special event will feature the display of classroom projects and participation in a number of science activities.

Coordinated by the Kativik School Board Education Services, the Nunavik Regional Science Fair enjoys financial support from the Kativik Regional Government.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of education services offered to Nunavik’s population. The education programs developed by KSB are offered in the schools of the 14 communities of Nunavik. Inuktitut is the first language and English and French are second languages. For more information about us, please visit our Web site at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Public Relations Officer
(514) 482-8220
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Kuujjuaq accueille l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik

2015 | 02 | 23
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, Qc (23 février 2015) – L’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik se tiendra les 24 et 25 février 2015 à l’école Pitakallak de Kuujjuaq. Durant ces deux journées, des équipes totalisant quelque 20 jeunes scientifiques présenteront leurs projets aux juges.

Cette année, l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik s’adresse aux écoles situées sur la côte de la Baie d’Ungava. Les communautés participantes sont Kangirsualujjuaq, Kuujjuaq, Tasiujaq, Aupaluk, Kangirsuk et Quaqtaq. L’année prochaine (2015-2016), l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik regroupera les écoles situées sur la côte de la Baie d’Hudson.

« Cet événement régional est très inspirant et nous sommes très heureux de l’accueillir », a déclaré Susie Koneak, directrice de l’école Pitakallak. « Les élèves sont motivés par l’occasion qui leur est offerte d’échanger avec des jeunes d’autres communautés qui partagent leur intérêt pour la science », a-t-elle ajouté.

Parmi les équipes qui auront présenté les meilleurs projets, certaines auront la chance de représenter le Nunavik au niveau provincial, durant l’Expo-sciences régionale du Québec 2015 (24 au 26 mars, Kahnawake, Qc).

Les résultats du concours seront annoncés le 26 février 2015, durant une cérémonie de fin de soirée au Centre culturel du village nordique de Kuujjuaq.

Nouveau cette année : les élèves de la maternelle à la 3e année participeront également à une Expo-sciences régionale junior la matinée du 25 février. Cet événement comprendra la présentation des projets effectués en classe de même que des activités axées sur la science.

Coordonnée par les Services éducatifs de la Commission scolaire Kativik, l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik reçoit un soutien financier de l’Administration régionale Kativik.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau Bernier
Chargée de relations publiques
(514) 482-8220
publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca