Launch of an Inuktitut Language Promotion Campaign

2015 | 09 | 15
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (September 15, 2015) – Today, the Kativik School Board is excited to announce the launch the campaign ᐃᓅᖃᑎᒃᑳ ᐅᖃᐅᓰᕐᓯᑌᓕᑕ ! (Hey fellow Inuit, let’s not lose our language!).

“The campaign targets Nunavimmiut of all horizons,” says Rita Novalinga, Assistant Director General of the Kativik School Board and spokesperson for this initiative.

With this campaign, the school board hopes to help raise awareness about the importance of speaking one’s language in order to keep it alive. “As a school board, we work with children and youth and we can testify to the importance of Inuit learning and speaking their language prior to attending school. Language is taught at school, but when it starts at home, it provides a solid foundation that facilitates all learning,” Rita Novalinga adds.

Over the upcoming weeks, the school board will be distributing language promotion material to its schools and to all Nunavik Northern Villages offices.

This initiative arises from the Parnasimautik consultations during which Nunavimmiut have consistently expressed concerns related to the importance of ensuring the preservation of the Inuktitut language. It also stems from the Illirijavut report (Avataq, 2012) whose recommendations highlight areas where immediate steps are needed to protect and prevent further erosion of the Inuktitut language.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Public Relations Officer

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Lancement d’une campagne de promotion de l’inuktitut

2015 | 09 | 15
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaq, Qc. (15 septembre 2015) – Aujourd’hui, la Commission scolaire Kativik est heureuse d’annoncer la campagne ᐃᓅᖃᑎᒃᑳ ᐅᖃᐅᓰᕐᓯᑌᓕᑕ ! (Concitoyens inuits, ne perdons pas notre langue!).

« La campagne vise les Nunavimmiut de tout horizon », souligne Rita Novalinga, directrice générale adjointe de la Commission scolaire Kativik et porte-parole de cette initiative.

Avec cette campagne, la commission scolaire espère sensibiliser la population du Nunavik sur l’importance de garder sa langue vivante. « À la commission scolaire, nous travaillons avec des enfants et des jeunes. Nous pouvons témoigner de l’importance pour les Inuits d’apprendre et de parler leur langue avant de fréquenter l’école. L’Inuktitut est enseignée à l’école, mais lorsque cette langue est acquise à la maison, on constate l’existence d’une solide fondation qui facilite ensuite tous les autres apprentissages », ajoute Rita Novalinga.

Au cours des prochaines semaines, la commission scolaire distribuera du matériel promotionnel dans ses écoles et dans tous les bureaux des villages nordiques du Nunavik.

Cette initiative résulte des consultations Parnasimautik au cours desquelles les Nunavimmiut ont exprimé constamment leurs préoccupations relativement à la sauvegarde de l’inuktitut. Elle s’appuie également sur le rapport Illirijavut (Avataq, 2012) qui identifie des domaines où des mesures immédiates sont nécessaires afin de protéger l’inuktitut et d’en freiner l’érosion.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Chargée de relations publiques

(514) 482-8220 |   publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca