Students from Puvirnituq and Salluit will represent Nunavik at the 2016 Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair

2016 | 04 | 1
News Releases

Montreal, Qc (April 1st, 2016) – Next week, the five Nunavik Regional Science Fair winners will represent Nunavik at the provincial level. On April 5 and 6, they will showcase their scientific projects at the 2016 Quebec Aboriginal Science Fair, in Mistissini, Qc. At this important event, Nunavik students will have the opportunity to pursue their interest for science and to meet aboriginal students from other regions.

On February 24, at the Nunavik Regional Science Fair, Lucassie Amaamatuaq, from Salluit, was awarded the first prize for his project “Music and intelligence”. The project looked at the impact of music on the way the brain functions: our moods and our ability to think or to solve mathematical problems. The second prize was awarded to Jenny Okituk and Elijah Isaac, from Salluit. Their project “Qullik 2.0” compared the efficiency and suitability of different types of fuel used in a Qullik (traditional Inuit oil lamp). Amilia Tukalak-Morin and Kaylie Kuananack, from Puvirnituq, were awarded the third prize for a scientific project that compared insulation materials as part of an “Indoors Snow Preservation” experiment.

Judges at the Nunavik Regional Science Fair all commented that they had been impressed with the quality and high standard of this year’s projects. “Students had worked especially hard. They were confident and beamed with pride when they presented their projects. There were so many great projects! It made it difficult to choose the winners,” said one of the judges.

The Kativik School Board would like to acknowledge that the Nunavik Regional Science Fair and prizes awarded to Nunavik winners benefit from the financial support of the Kativik Regional Government.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of education services offered to Nunavik’s population. The education programs developed by KSB are offered in the schools of the 14 communities of Nunavik. Inuktitut is the first language and English and French are second languages. For more information about us, please visit our Web site at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Public Relations Officer

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Des élèves de Puvirnituq et de Salluit représenteront le Nunavik à l’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec de 2016

2016 | 04 | 1
Communiqués de presse

Montréal, Qc (1er avril 2016) – La semaine prochaine, les cinq gagnants de l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik représenteront le Nunavik au niveau provincial. Les 5 et 6 avril, ils présenteront leurs projets à l’Expo-sciences autochtone du Québec de 2016, à Mistissini, Qc. Cet événement est une occasion extraordinaire pour les élèves du Nunavik qui pourront y approfondir leur intérêt pour la science et rencontrer des élèves autochtones provenant d’autres régions du Québec.

Le 24 février dernier, à l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik, Lucassie Amaamatuaq, de Salluit, remportait le premier prix pour son projet « Musique et intelligence ». Ce projet portait sur la musique et son influence sur le fonctionnement du cerveau : ses répercussions sur nos humeurs et sur notre capacité de penser ou de résoudre des problèmes mathématiques. Jenny Okituk et Elijah Isaac, de Salluit, se sont mérités le deuxième prix. Leur projet « Qullik 2.0 », comparait différents types de combustibles afin de déterminer s’ils étaient adéquats et efficaces lorsqu’utilisés dans un Qullik (lampe à l’huile inuite traditionnelle). Amilia Tukalak-Morin et Kaylie Kuananack, de Puvirnituq, ont quant à elles remporté le troisième prix pour un projet scientifique qui comparait des matériaux d’isolation utilisés dans le cadre d’une expérience sur la « conservation de la neige à l’intérieur ».

Les juges de l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik ont tous mentionné la qualité remarquable et le calibre élevé des projets présentés cette année. « Les élèves ont travaillé exceptionnellement fort. Ils étaient confiants et affichaient beaucoup de fierté lorsqu’ils ont présenté leur projet. Il y avait tellement de projets fantastiques! Choisir les gagnants n’était pas aisé », a mentionné l’un des juges.

La Commission scolaire Kativik désire souligner que l’Expo-sciences régionale du Nunavik et les prix accordés aux gagnants du Nunavik bénéficient du soutien financier de l’Administration régionale Kativik.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter notre site Web : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Agente de relations publiques

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca