Supporting our children as they acquire Inuktitut language skills

2015 | 10 | 21
News Releases

Kuujjuaraapik, Qc. (October 21, 2015) – Meeting in Kuujjuaraapik this week, the Council of Commissioners of the Kativik School Board takes the opportunity to address the local population about the importance of ensuring the acquisition of Inuktitut by future generations of Inuit.

The President of the Kativik School Board, Alicie Nalukturuk, will be speaking to the Kuujjuaraapik Inuit on the local FM radio today at noon and to the Kuujjuaraapik Cree on Thursday (early afternoon). She will discuss the school board’s policy on languages of instruction. She will also introduce a series of leaflets on language development tips for parents and educators.

The leaflets will be distributed to the community this week and are available at the FM radio stations. They are also accessible on the Kativik School Board website. The leaflets were developed by the school board’s department of Complementary Services and were printed in collaboration with the Nunavik Board of Health and Social Services.

This language discussion is part of the campaign ᐃᓅᖃᑎᒃᑳ ᐅᖃᐅᓰᕐᓯᑌᓕᑕ ! (Hey fellow Inuit, let’s not lose our language!), launched by the Kativik School Board on September 15, 2015. The campaign arises from the 2014 Parnasimautik consultation report and the Illirijavut report (Avataq, 2012) that both point out to the urgent need to protect and prevent further erosion of the Inuktitut language.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Public Relations Officer

From Oct. 19 to 23: (819) 929-3331

After Oct. 26: (514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Soutenir nos enfants dans leur apprentissage de l’inuktitut

2015 | 10 | 21
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaraapik, Qc. (21 octobre 2015) – Cette semaine, le Conseil des commissaires de la Commission scolaire Kativik profite de sa réunion à Kuujjuaraapik pour interpeller les résidents du village au sujet de l’importance l’acquisition de l’inuktitut par les générations prochaines générations d’Inuits.

La présidente de la Commission scolaire Kativik, Alicie Nalukturuk, s’adressera aux résidents inuits de Kuujjuaraapik aujourd’hui à midi et aux Cris jeudi en début d’après-midi, en direct de la radio FM du village. Elle discutera de la politique sur les langues d’enseignement en vigueur à la commission scolaire. Elle présentera également une série de dépliants qui offrent des trucs aux parents et aux éducateurs afin de favoriser le développement du langage chez les enfants.

Les dépliants seront distribués aux résidents du village cette semaine et demeureront disponible aux stations de radio FM. Il est également possible de les consulter sur le site web de la Commission scolaire Kativik. Ces dépliants ont été développés par le Département de services complémentaires de la commission scolaire et ils ont été imprimés en collaboration avec la Régie de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik.

Cette discussion sur la langue est organisée dans le cadre de la campagne de promotion de l’inuktitut ᐃᓅᖃᑎᒃᑳ ᐅᖃᐅᓰᕐᓯᑌᓕᑕ ! (Hé concitoyen inuit, ne perdons pas notre langue!). Cette campagne a été lancée par la Commission scolaire Kativik le 15 septembre 2015. Elle est fondée sur le rapport de la consultation publique Parnasimautik (2014) et le rapport Illirjavut (2012) qui soulignent tous deux l’urgente nécessité de protéger l’inuktitut et d’en freiner l’érosion.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est la pourvoyeuse exclusive des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter notre site web à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Chargée de relations publiques

Du 19 au 23 oct. : (819) 929-3331

Après le 26 oct. : (514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca