The Council of Commissioners announces the appointment of the new director general of Kativik Ilisarniliriniq

2018 | 03 | 27
News Releases

Montreal, Qc. (March 27, 2018) – The Council of Commissioners of Kativik Ilisarniliriniq is glad to announce the appointment of Ms. Harriet Keleutak to the position of Director General. Ms. Keleutak will take up her duties on April 16, 2018.

The recruitment process was managed by the external agency Higgings Executive Search Services. The selection committee was formed of five Commissioners: Mr. Robert Watt (Kuujjuaq), Ms. Alicie Nalukturuk (Inukjuak), Mr. Anthony Ittoshat (Kuujjuaraapik), Ms. Sarah Aloupa (Quaqtaq) and Ms. Jessica Arngaq (Kangiqsujuaq).

Biography: Ms. Harriet Keleutak

Over the past 20 years, Ms. Keleutak has worked extensively on the area of education. She held a number of different positions with Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, where she was Secretary General from 2005 to 2017. An experienced translator and a seasoned workshop facilitator, Ms. Keleutak worked closely with Nunavik elders to develop Inuktitut terminology used today in the school board’s curriculum and educational programs. Ms. Keleutak brings an extensive network of Inuit and First Nations leaders at the community, regional, provincial and national levels, which she maintained and developed through years of active personal and professional engagement on a broad range of Indigenous issues, including education.

In 2017, and up until her appointment to the position of Director General with Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, Ms. Keleutak worked as Corporate Administrator for the Makivik Corporation.

About us:

Kativik Ilisarniliriniq was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA). Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of educational services to all Nunavik residents. Under the JBNQA, the school board also acts as an institution with unique powers and jurisdiction geared towards the protection and development of the Inuit language, culture, and way of life, through the delivery of tailored educational services and programs. The education programs developed by the school board are offered in all schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. The school board operates 17 primary and secondary schools as well as 5 adult education centres and a pre-college facility. More information can be found at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Communications Coordinator
514-482-8220 ext. 309 | publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

le Conseil des commissaires annonce la nomination de la nouvelle directrice générale de Kativik Ilisarniliriniq

2018 | 03 | 27
Communiqués de presse

Montréal, QC (27 mars 2018) – Le Conseil des commissaires de Kativik Ilisarniliriniq est heureux d’annoncer la nomination de Mme Harriet Keleutak au poste de directrice générale. Mme Keleutak prendra ses fonctions le 16 avril 2018.

Le processus de recrutement a été géré par l’agence externe Higgings Executive Search Services. Le comité de sélection était composé de cinq commissaires: M. Robert Watt (Kuujjuaq), Mme Alicie Nalukturuk (Inukjuak), M. Anthony Ittoshat (Kuujjuaraapik), Mme Sarah Aloupa (Quaqtaq) et Mme Jessica Arngaq (Kangiqsujuaq).

Biographie : Mme Harriet Keleutak

Au cours des 20 dernières années, Mme Keleutak a travaillé de façon soutenue dans le domaine de l’éducation. Elle a occupé différents postes auprès de Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, où elle a notamment été secrétaire générale de 2005 à 2017. Traductrice chevronnée et animatrice d’ateliers d’expérience, Mme Keleutak a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les aînés du Nunavik pour développer la terminologie inuktitute aujourd’hui utilisée dans les curricula et les programmes éducatifs de la commission scolaire. Mme Keleutak se joint à la commission scolaire forte d’un vaste réseau de leaders Inuits et des Premières Nations tant au niveau communautaire, qu’aux niveaux régional, provincial et national. Mme Keleutak a maintenu et développé ce réseau au fil des années, dans le cadre d’un engagement personnel et professionnel soutenu touchant à un vaste éventail de questions autochtones, notamment l’éducation.

En 2017, et ce jusqu’à sa nomination au poste de directrice générale auprès de Kativik Ilisarniliriniq, Mme Keleutak a travaillé comme administratrice générale chez la Société Makivik.

À propos de nous :

Kativik Ilisarniliriniq a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ). Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Dans le cadre de la CBJNQ, la commission est habilitée à élaborer et à dispenser des programmes et des services d’éducation particuliers destinés à assurer la protection et le développement de la langue, de la culture et du mode de vie inuits. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par Kativik Ilisarniliriniq sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik, en inuktitut comme langue maternelle, puis en anglais et en français comme langues secondes. La commission scolaire compte 17 écoles primaires et secondaires, de même que 5 centres d’éducation des adultes et un centre d’études précollégiales. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Pour toute demande d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier
Coordonnatrice des communications
514 482-8220, poste  309 | publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca