The Kativik School Board releases iNaqittaq, a syllabics keyboard application!

2015 | 11 | 23
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, QC (November 23, 2015) – In the context of the Inuktitut language promotion campaign it launched on September 15, 2015, the Kativik School Board is proud to announce that its awaited Inuktitut keyboard, iNaqittaq, is now available for free from the Apple App Store.

“The Inuktitut language is in constant competition with English, which is the most commonly used language on the Internet and on electronic devices such as iPads, iPods and iPhones,” says Rita Novalinga, Assistant Director General of the school board and spokesperson for the Inuktitut promotion campaign. “Our students and their parents use new technologies. Educational apps on iPads are also increasingly used in our schools. iNaqittaq will facilitate learning in Inuktitut at school. At home and in other social areas, iNaqittaq will also play an important role in ensuring that younger generations speak and write in Inuktitut when using new technologies to interact,” adds Rita Novalinga.

iNaqittaq enables Inuit users to type in Inuktitut syllabics on iPads, iPhones, and iPods. The app is fully compatible with iOS 8 (released in November 2014). A drawing recognition application for syllabics is also being developed and should be available later during the school year.

The project is led by Etua Snowball, Director of Education Services and his First Language Curriculum Development team. It is entirely funded by the Kativik School Board. iNaqittaq can be downloaded here.

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Public Relations Officer

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

La Commission scolaire Kativik lance iNaqittaq, une application de clavier en caractères syllabiques!

2015 | 11 | 23
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, QC (23 novembre 2015) – Dans le contexte de la campagne de promotion de l’inuktitut qu’elle a lancée en septembre 2015, la Commission scolaire Kativik est fière d’annoncer que son clavier en inuktitut iNaqittaq, est maintenant disponible gratuitement auprès de la boutique Apple App Store.

«La langue inuktitut est en compétition constante avec l’anglais, qui est la langue la plus couramment utilisée sur Internet et par les usagers d’appareils électroniques comme les iPads, les iPods et les iPhones», précise Rita Novalinga, directrice générale adjointe de la commission scolaire et porte-parole de la campagne de promotion de l’inuktitut. «Nos élèves et leurs parents utilisent de nouvelles technologies. Les applications éducatives sur les iPads sont de plus en plus courantes dans nos écoles. iNaqittaq favorisera l’apprentissage en inuktitut à l’école. À la maison et dans d’autres domaines d’activités sociales, iNaqittaq jouera également un rôle important afin d’assurer que les jeunes générations parlent et écrivent en Inuktitut lorsqu’elles utilisent de nouvelles technologies pour communiquer», ajoute Rita Novalinga.

iNaqittaq permet aux utilisateurs inuits de taper en caractères inuktitut sur des iPads et des iPhones. L’application est pleinement compatible avec iOS 8 (lancé en novembre 2014). Une application de reconnaissance d’écriture pour les caractères syllabiques est aussi en cours de développement. Elle devrait être disponible plus tard durant l’année scolaire.

Le projet, qui est dirigé par Etua Snowball, directeur des Services éducatifs et de l’équipe de développement des programmes d’études en langue maternelle est entièrement financé par la Commission scolaire Kativik. iNaqittaq peut être téléchargé ici.

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Chargée de relations publiques

(514) 482-8220;

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca