Umiujaq students speak live to an astronaut of the International Space Station

2015 | 11 | 17
News Releases

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, QC (November 17, 2015) – Today, students at Kiluutaq School, Umiujaq, will be talking live to an astronaut of the International Space Station. The radio contact will occur at approximately 11 a.m., while the International Space Station travels over Umiujaq, about 400 km above the earth.

For the past years, this special program has been offered to Nunavik schools under the sponsorship of the Makivik Corporation, First Air and Air Inuit. The program is coordinated by the Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS), in collaboration with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

About us:

The Kativik School Board (KSB) was created in 1975, under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. Since 1978, it has been the exclusive provider of academic services to the Nunavik population. Education programs developed by the KSB are offered in schools of the 14 Nunavik communities, in Inuktitut as first language and in French and English as second languages. More information at: www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

For information, please contact:

Jade Duchesneau Bernier

Public Relations Officer

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca

Des élèves d’Umiujaq parlent en direct à un astronaute de la Station spatiale internationale

2015 | 11 | 17
Communiqués de presse

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, QC (le 17 novembre 2015) – Aujourd’hui, des élèves de l’école Kiluutaq d’Umiujaq parleront en direct avec un astronaute de la Station spatiale internationale. Le contact radio aura lieu à environ 11 h, pendant que la Station spatiale internationale survolera Umiujaq, à environ 400 km au-dessus de la terre.

Au cours des dernières années, ce programme spécial a été offert aux écoles du Nunavik grâce à la généreuse participation de la Société Makivik, de First Air et d’Air Inuit. L’organisme Radio amateur à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (RASSI) coordonne le projet en collaboration avec la NASA et l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC).

À propos de nous :

La Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK) a été créée en 1975, en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord Québécois. Depuis 1978, elle est le pourvoyeur exclusif des services éducatifs offerts à la population du Nunavik. Les programmes d’éducation élaborés par la CSK sont offerts dans les écoles des 14 communautés du Nunavik. L’inuktitut est la langue première et l’anglais et le français sont les langues secondes. Pour de plus amples renseignements à notre sujet, nous vous invitons à vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.kativik.qc.ca

— 30 —

Veuillez communiquer avec :

Jade Duchesneau-Bernier

Chargée de relations publiques

(514) 482-8220

publicrelations@kativik.qc.ca